The Office of Historic Alexandria is pleased to announce that this year’s Historic Alexandria Commemorative ornament features the historic Murray-Dick-Fawcett House at 517 Prince Street. Constructed ca. 1772, the house is a unique example of early American craftsmanship. The house was owned at one time by Dr. Elisha Cullen Dick, physician to George Washington, and was lived in by the Brown family for 184 years.
The Murray-Dick-Fawcett House was purchased by the City of Alexandria in April 2017 with the generous support of the Virginia Land Conservation Fund, the Virginia Outdoors Foundation, and former owner C. Joseph Reeder. In the future, the house will be opened as a museum and operated by the Office of Historic Alexandria. Today, visitors are invited to enjoy the home’s lovely side garden that is open to the public from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.
The 2017 Historic Alexandria ornament is on sale at The Lyceum, Gadsby’s Tavern Museum, the Apothecary Museum, Alexandria Archaeology Museum, and the Alexandria Visitor Center. For additional information about the Murray-Dick-Fawcett House, please visit alexandriava.gov/historic. This year’s ornament, as well as others in the series, are available online at alexandriava.gov/shop.